Howdy dears!

I hope you’d had a great week since my last post, I  had one myself. Since last Wednesday I went to work 5 days, had 2 days off, had 1 night out with the girls and made apple cinnamon cake. I think it was a pretty good week, right?

And to top it all off, today my best friend told me she was totally into going on vacations together!

In early December, I took a job at a hotel here in Buenos Aires -mainly- as a waitress. I like it there, i mean i’ve never worked as a waitress before, so it was a good opportunity to learn more about the whole F&B depertment in a hotel.

So the same day i had my last final in school, i started working. Nine hours a day, 5 days a week  for 3 months. Easy, right?

Well thing is, i now realized that as soon as my contract ends, my school year begins … not such a great idea now, is it? This means i have basically no vacations until NEXT year. And that of course being no vacation at all, since i’ll go to the States to work next winter!

I couldn’t get my head arround it, i would have gone nuts if i’d done this! Therefor, i told the people at the hotel that i was terminating my contract, ergo, turning in my resignation by the end of this month, so that i could have at least 2 weeks of doing whatever it was i wanted to do right before starting college again.

I did this like a week ago, and i’ve been wanting to ask my friend if she wanted to go on a little road trip with me for a couple of days, as a symbolism of “my year has finally ended, let’s get the new one rolling, please!”

Today we finally got to talk about it and we decided that we are taking perhaps 3 days to go to a very close small town called Chascomus. It has a lagoon and a lot of “estancias” that work as rural hotels… such a lovely place to go to and relax, go horse back riding or canoeing!

My mind is already by the pool, reading a book… it does not want to go back to work tomorrow, but it has to, i still have 20 more days to go before i can stop and make my braing go blank!

Meanwhile, as to relax a bit before starting my week, i made Apple Cinnamon Cake yet again. The girls at work have been demanding this cake for 2 weeks now, so it was about time i made it!

I love this cake, so easy to make, so rich and light…. and yes, it it another Martha Stewart recipe… so what? i love Martha! :P

This cake goes incredibly well with tea at 5 o’clock. Or with some “mates” at practicaly anytime!

Here goes the recipe for you guys to give it a try:

Apple Cinnamon Cake adapted from Matha Stewart’s website

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light-brown sugar
  • 4 large eggs
  • 6 Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons water
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Make the cake: In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cinnamon, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.
  2. In a large bowl, combine butter, brown sugar, and eggs. Whisk until smooth. Gradually whisk in dry ingredients just until combined (do not overmix). Using a rubber spatula, fold in apples. Spoon batter into a 12-cup nonstick Bundt pan, and smooth top. Spread the walnuts over the top and bake until a tester inserted in cake comes out clean, 50 to 60 minutes. Cool in pan on rack 15 minutes; invert onto rack to cool completely.

It is a great option to make on a saturday afternoon, right before you start planning on your evening date. And as Wednesday nights are my Saturday nights… i made it yesterday afternoon.

Feel free to comment on any other apple cinnamon cake you know of that are worth trying, or any suggestion on upcomming recipes you’ll like to see here ;)

I’ll see you all next week… in the mean time, check out this version of “God only knows” –  by Pedro Aznar (it’s been on my head ALL day)

Lau ;)

