“Fernando? what tha… who is Fernando?”

Don’t worry. You are not supposed to know him. Well, it is not a him, actually.

This cupcakes are made with Fernet cream and Coca Cola cake, in great honor of a well-known drink from Argentina. The “Fernando”, for which you put  1/10 Fernet in a glass and fill the rest with coke.

So now you know him.

I’m quite sure something like this has been made before. I’m SURE. However, i never actually thought of doing anything with Fernet… in my life! Mostly because I’m not a big fan of it. It’s bitter and really strong. Tastes kind of like medicine. It used to be used as one, so i guess it makes sense hehe!

Still, it is one of the most common drinks in Argentina along sides with beer, Quilmes beer that is.

It all started because a friend of mine, Matias, send me an email joking about how he wanted me to make him fernet cupcakes.

“He’s just mad. How in the world is that ever gonna be possible??” was my first reaction. But after a couple months thinking about it (and Matias pushing me to do it for when he comes back from a season in Utah) I decided to give it a try.

Trust me, even I liked them!

The cake I made it from a recipe I found on a local magazine. It’s supposed to be a small cake, but I made it into exactly 12 cupcakes (how awesome is that?! exactly 12!)

It’s more of a chocolate cake than it is a coca cola cake, to be fair, but it makes the part of a good old friend to the Fernet cream on top! It’s a gooey cake, perfect as a birthday cake too!

Fernando Cupcakes

For the Coca Cola cake: (a Blanca Cotta recipe published 14-02-10 by Viva magazine)

– 100 g chocolate

– 50 g butter

– 1/2 cup sugar

– 1 egg yolk

1 egg white

– 1 cup flour

– 1 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/2 cup Coca Cola (I think Pepsi’d work too)

– 1 egg white

For the frosting:

– 200 g cream

– 1 tablespoon Fernet

Procedure:

1 – Cut the chocolate into small pieces and melt it with butter in a small sauce pan, stirring constantly. When melted, add sugar and stir until dissolved.

2 – Put the chocolate mixture into a mixing bowl and add the egg yolk. Set aside.

3 – Sift flour and baking powder and add it to the previous mix. Don’t mix it too much!

4 – Slowly add coke.

5 – Beat eggs until they hold stiff peaks and carefully incorporate them into the mixture.

6 – Put the mix in the cupcake liners and bake for 15-20 minutes at medium heat.

7 – When cupcakes are out of the oven and completely cooled, it’s time to decorate!

8 – Beat the cream with Fernet until it holds stiff peaks. Put it into a pastry bag and decorate the cupcakes.

You’re all done!! C’mmon, it’s really easy to make…. and it is easier to eat!

*Hint* If you can’t get Fernet where you live… you can use any other liquor you prefer. It’s not gonna be the same, but you’ll still get the alcohol flavor and that was  indeed what we were looking for in the first place! ;)

Leave a comment and I’ll see you all next week!

Lau ;)

