Breakfast … the most awesome meal of them all.

I like breakfast… I don’t like getting up in the morning, but breakfast makes it better. The smell of fresh coffee, warm toasts and, occasionally, muffins and mascarpone cheese!

I came across a lovely recipe for homemade mascarpone cheese yesterday morning (because for some reason I was up at 8.25 am) and I had to make it. Just had to. I mean, why not? The recipe only called for cream and lemon juice and I happen to have both in my fridge.

I had just made banana muffins before I found the cheese recipe… so I cleaned out the kitchen and started cooking again!

Making it took me about 30-40 minutes and then 24 hs in the fridge until it’s completly done.

So having made the muffins and the mascarpone cheese, all I had to do was wait for breakfast and enjoy all the hard work!!

Mascarpone. Now that I’ve found the way to make it at home and it costs only the tenth part of what it costs at the store, I won’t go back. I won’t. And you should do the same!

HomeMade Mascarpone Cheese: (Recipe from Baking Obsession)

  • 500 ml whipping (36 %) pasteurized (not ultra-pasteurized), preferably organic cream
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

Bring 1 inch of water to a boil in a wide skillet. Reduce the heat to medium-low so the water is barely simmering. Pour the cream into a medium heat-resistant bowl, then place the bowl into the skillet. Heat the cream, stirring often, to 190 F. It will take about 15 minutes of delicate heating. Add the lemon juice and continue heating the mixture, stirring gently, until the cream curdles. All that the whipping cream will do is become thicker.

Remove the bowl from the water and let cool for about 20 minutes. Meanwhile, line a sieve with four layers of dampened cheesecloth and set it over a bowl. Transfer the mixture into the lined sieve. Do not squeeze the cheese in the cheesecloth or press on its surface (be patient, it will firm up after refrigeration time). Once cooled completely, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate (in the sieve) overnight or up to 24 hours.

You’re all done and with a jar of home-made cheese!

For my next entry, I will start posting every recipe I learn in Pastry School (or the most atractive ones!) The real journey begins! I hope you can join me… would you join me? :)

See you all next week!

Laura.

